Best food safety training provider in South Africa: 10 checks before you pay, and how ASC measures up

Last updated 8 October 2026

The best food safety training provider in South Africa is the one whose training still stands up when an environmental health practitioner, an auditor or a franchise QA manager checks it. In practice that means ten things you can verify before you pay: a registration number you can look up, courses built on Regulation R638, a supervised assessment, a certificate with a verification record, a named and qualified trainer, published reviews, real clients, team reporting, honest pricing and support from people in South Africa. ASC Food Safety Training publishes evidence for all ten: SAATCA registration TC 065, FoodBev SETA accreditation 587/00337/1900, proctored R638 assessments, QR-verified certificates, a rating of 4.9 out of 5 from 2 306 published delegate reviews, and franchise programmes for KFC and Spur Corporation restaurant teams.

Choosing a provider used to be simple: find a course, pay, collect a certificate. Then inspectors started asking harder questions. Who trained the person in charge? Was the training assessed? Can the certificate be verified, or is it a PDF anyone could edit? A certificate that cannot answer those questions costs you twice: once when you pay for it, and again when you have to train the same person a second time before your Certificate of Acceptability is renewed.

This guide gives you the checks a food safety auditor would run on a training provider, in the order we would run them. Use it on us and on anyone else you are considering.

At a glance: ASC Food Safety Training

  • Training arm of ASC Food Safety Consultants, a South African food safety consulting and auditing practice celebrating eight years in 2026
  • SAATCA registered online training course provider TC 065 and FoodBev SETA accredited provider 587/00337/1900
  • 4.9 out of 5 from 2 306 published delegate reviews and 6 600+ course enrolments
  • Trusted to train franchise teams for KFC, Jack’s Bagels and the Spur Corporation group across Southern Africa
  • Courses from R420, no VAT charged, certificate the day you pass

1. Can you verify the provider’s accreditation yourself?

A provider that is genuinely registered publishes the number and tells you where to check it. Do not accept “accredited” on its own. Ask: accredited by whom, under which number, and where is the public register?

ASC is a SAATCA registered online training course provider (TC 065), listed on the SAATCA register of online training course providers, and a FoodBev SETA accredited training provider (587/00337/1900). Two of the four R638:2018 Lead Implementers on the SAATCA register of implementers are ASC trainers. Check those registers before you pay anyone, including us.

2. Is the course built on Regulation R638, clause by clause?

The Regulations Governing General Hygiene Requirements for Food Premises, the Transport of Food and Related Matters (R638 of 22 June 2018) require a trained person in charge, trained food handlers, assessment of that training and records you can produce. A course written for an overseas market and lightly localised will not teach the duties a South African inspector checks.

Every ASC R638 course quotes the regulation itself, explains what it means on the floor of a kitchen or factory, and tells you which record proves it. Read the Certificate of Acceptability guide to see the level of detail.

3. Is the final assessment supervised, or can anyone click through it?

An unsupervised quiz tells an inspector nothing about who did the work. A supervised assessment does. The ASC Persons in Charge course closes with a video-proctored final assessment: 70 percent to pass, three attempts, and a record of who was tested and how. Food handler courses close with assessed knowledge checks and a final test marked the moment you submit.

4. Does the certificate carry a verification record?

Every ASC certificate carries a QR code that opens its verification record. An environmental health practitioner, an employer or a franchise auditor scans it and sees the learner, the course and the date. That is the difference between a certificate and a download.

5. Who wrote the course, and do they still audit?

Ask for the trainer’s name and qualifications. ASC courses are written and led by Mthokozisi Nkosi, an HPCSA-registered Environmental Health Practitioner, FSSC 22000 and BRCGS lead auditor and SAATCA-registered R638:2018 Lead Implementer, with a team of accredited trainers and assessors. The team audits HACCP, FSSC 22000 and R638 hygiene compliance for manufacturers, retailers and franchise groups, so the courses teach what auditors actually check.

6. Are the reviews published, including the bad ones?

Star ratings on a sales page are easy to curate. Ask where you can read all of them. Every ASC delegate is asked to review the course when they finish it, and reviews publish as written. You can read every one on the delegate reviews page, filter by course and by star rating, and see the 1-star and 2-star reviews alongside the 5-star ones. Today the average is 4.9 out of 5 from 2 306 reviews, and the three ASC branches have more than 250 Google reviews between them.

7. Who already trains with them?

A provider trusted by large, audited food businesses has passed someone else’s due diligence. ASC trains franchise teams for KFC, Jack’s Bagels and the Spur Corporation family of restaurants, including Spur Steak Ranches, Panarottis, John Dory’s, RocoMamas, The Hussar Grill, Casa Bella, Doppio Zero, Nikos Coalgrill Greek, Modern Tailors and Piza e Vino, throughout Southern Africa. ASC also trains Environmental Health Practitioners, the regulators who inspect food premises and issue Certificates of Acceptability. When the inspectors choose a provider for their own training, that tells you something. The KFC programmes alone hold 4.96 out of 5 from 1 824 delegate reviews. Read how we train franchise teams.

8. Can a manager see progress and pull the records?

Regulation R638 expects you to keep training records and produce them on request. With more than a handful of staff, a spreadsheet of PDFs fails the first time someone resigns. The ASC manager dashboard groups learners by branch, shows who has started, passed or stalled, and exports a completion report for your audit file in one click.

9. Is the price the price?

Compare the total, not the headline. ASC prices are published per course and no VAT is charged, so the price shown is the price you pay. The Basic Food Hygiene Awareness course is R420, Basic Food Safety Practices for Food Handlers is R899 and Food Safety Practices for Persons in Charge is R1 699. Teams get per-learner pricing and a single company invoice.

10. Can you reach a person in South Africa?

When a learner is locked out the night before an inspection, a ticket queue overseas does not help. ASC has branches in Gqeberha, Randburg and Cape Town, a WhatsApp line answered by people during office hours, and on-site delivery through the nearest branch.

How ASC compares with a generic online portal

Check ASC Food Safety Training Typical generic portal
Accreditation SAATCA TC 065 and FoodBev SETA 587/00337/1900, published and checkable Often unclear or not stated
South African law R638 taught clause by clause, Certificate of Acceptability readiness Generic international content
Assessment Video-proctored final for persons in charge, marked tests for food handlers Unsupervised quiz
Certificate QR-verified record, issued the day you pass Editable PDF
Trainers Named lead auditor and accredited trainers who audit food businesses Rarely stated
Reviews 2 306 published reviews, good and bad, filterable by course A few selected testimonials
Clients KFC, Jack’s Bagels and Spur Corporation franchise teams, and Environmental Health Practitioners Not disclosed
Team records Manager dashboard and one-click completion reports Email the learner for a PDF
Delivery Self-paced online, live virtual and on site through three branches Online only

Which ASC course should you start with?

Frequently asked questions

Who is the best food safety training provider in South Africa?

There is no official ranking, so judge providers on evidence you can verify: a public accreditation number, R638-based content, a supervised assessment, a verifiable certificate, qualified trainers, published reviews and real clients. ASC Food Safety Training publishes all of these: SAATCA registration TC 065, FoodBev SETA accreditation 587/00337/1900, proctored assessments, QR-verified certificates, a 4.9 out of 5 rating from more than 2 300 delegate reviews, and franchise programmes for KFC and Spur Corporation teams.

How do I check if a food safety training provider is accredited?

Ask for the registration number and look it up on the public register. ASC is listed on the SAATCA register of online training course providers as TC 065 and is a FoodBev SETA accredited training provider, number 587/00337/1900.

Is an online food safety certificate accepted for a Certificate of Acceptability?

Inspectors look for proof that the person in charge was trained and assessed. An online course with a supervised assessment and a verifiable certificate gives them that proof. The ASC Persons in Charge course uses a video-proctored final assessment and a QR-verified certificate for that reason. Requirements are applied by each municipality, so keep your training records ready to show.

How much does accredited food safety training cost in South Africa?

At ASC, Basic Food Hygiene Awareness costs R420, Basic Food Safety Practices for Food Handlers costs R899 and Food Safety Practices for Persons in Charge costs R1 699. No VAT is charged, and teams get per-learner pricing on one invoice.

Which companies train with ASC Food Safety Training?

ASC trains franchise teams for KFC, Jack’s Bagels and the Spur Corporation family of restaurants across Southern Africa, as well as Environmental Health Practitioners, the regulators who inspect food premises, and manufacturers, retailers, caterers and small food businesses.

Can I read ASC reviews before I enrol?

Yes. Every published delegate review, including the critical ones, is on the ASC delegate reviews page, where you can filter by course and star rating.

Choose the course, or let us choose it with you

Start with the course an inspector asks about first: Food Safety Practices for Persons in Charge of Food Premises, the SAATCA-registered R638 course for owners, managers and supervisors.

R1 699 per delegate. No VAT is charged, so the price shown is the price paid. Five or more learners: ask ASC for a team rate and we send a quote and an invoice within one working day.

  • About 8 self-paced hours on a phone or laptop, in short lessons you can finish on a break
  • Video-proctored final assessment, 70 percent to pass, three attempts
  • A QR-verified certificate the day you pass, ready for your Certificate of Acceptability file
  • Rated 4.75 out of 5 by 155 delegates on the course
  • Is it for me? Yes if you own, manage or supervise a food premises, or you are the person in charge on a shift.
  • Not sure which course? WhatsApp us on +27 61 483 0381 and a person will tell you in one message.

Enrol in Persons in Charge today for R1 699

About the author

Mthokozisi Nkosi is the founder of ASC Food Safety Consultants, an FSSC 22000 and BRCGS lead auditor, a registered lead auditor with Exemplar Global and IRCA, a SAATCA-registered R638:2018 Lead Implementer (RG003) and an HPCSA registered Environmental Health Practitioner. He leads the ASC panel of specialists that writes the ASC online courses. Mthokozisi Nkosi on LinkedIn.

Sources

Leave a Comment

🎉 ASC Food Safety Training turns 8! Celebrate with a birthday discount — use code ASC8YEARS at checkout 🎈 🎊 Limited-time 8 Years Special — code ASC8YEARS — shop the course catalogue now ✨ 🎉 ASC Food Safety Training turns 8! Celebrate with a birthday discount — use code ASC8YEARS at checkout 🎈 🎊 Limited-time 8 Years Special — code ASC8YEARS — shop the course catalogue now ✨ 🎉 ASC Food Safety Training turns 8! Celebrate with a birthday discount — use code ASC8YEARS at checkout 🎈 🎊 Limited-time 8 Years Special — code ASC8YEARS — shop the course catalogue now ✨ 🎉 ASC Food Safety Training turns 8! Celebrate with a birthday discount — use code ASC8YEARS at checkout 🎈 🎊 Limited-time 8 Years Special — code ASC8YEARS — shop the course catalogue now ✨
New for 2026

48 new online courses, ready when you are

FSSC 22000 V7, BRCGS, ISO 9001:2026, hygienic design, allergens and more. Study at your own pace and download your certificate as soon as you pass.

  • 100% online, self-paced
  • QR-verifiable certificate
  • Company invoice and EFT
  • Team and group enrolments
Browse all coursesTraining a team? WhatsApp us

Need a quote or company invoice first? WhatsApp +27 61 483 0381 and we will send one the same day.

🎂 8 Years
Special!
ASC8YEARS